clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chisholm and Vallati selected to Team OHL for Canada Russia Series

The pair of Jets fifth round picks from 2018 will represent their league in November.

Kingston Frontenacs v Peterborough Petes
Declan Chisholm #20 of the Peterborough Petes skates with the puck against the Kingston Frontenacs in an OHL game at the Peterborough Memorial Centre on Sept 20, 2018 in Peterborough, Ontario, Canada.
Photo by Claus Andersen/Getty Images

The team rosters for the WHL, QMJHL and OHL were announced today for the upcoming Canada-Russia series, with a pair of 2018 Winnipeg Jets draft picks representing the Ontario Hockey League.

Declan Chisholm (5th round, 150th overall, Peterborough Petes) and Giovanni Vallati (5th round, 153rd overall, Oshawa Generals) will represent the OHL, with Chisholm playing in one game and Vallati in two. Both players are left-handed defenders.

Kingston Frontenacs v Peterborough Petes Photo by Claus Andersen/Getty Images

Chisholm is in his third season with the Peterborough Petes. The 18-year-old has nine points in 10 games this year, giving him 34 in 98 career games.

2018 NHL Draft - Portraits Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images

Vallati is in his third OHL season, and first with the Oshawa Generals after being traded from the Kitchener Rangers in the off-season. Vallati has six points in eight games, giving him 53 points in 132 career games.

The Canada Russia series is an annual competition which sees the top stars in the Canadian Hockey League (CHL) play a series of six games against a young Russian squad. The leagues of the CHL (the WHL, QMJHL and OHL) each respectively play two games.

It appears the event is only open to Canadian players of the CHL, which is how a guy like Nikolaj Ehlers didn’t represent the QMJHL in 2013 and 2014.

In the past, numerous current and former Jets players and prospects have played in the event. While there are fewer representatives in recent years, the Jets going after players in the USHL and Europe is the cause, as the list of possible players has dwindled.

2011: Mark Scheifele, Seth Griffith, Joe Morrow
2012: Adam Lowry, J.C. Lipon, Eric Comrie, Laurent Brossoit
2013: Josh Morrissey, Nic Petan, Comrie, Scott Kosmachuk
2014: Morrissey, Petan, Comrie, Brendan Lemieux, Ken Appleby (Manitoba Moose)
2015: Jansen Harkins
2016: Harkins
2017: Logan Stanley
2018: Giovanni Vallati, Declan Chisholm

Italics indicate player has played in the NHL.