clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The NHL has cancelled games through December 30, 2012 as hopes for a season hang in the balance

New, comments

After today's round of NHL cancellations, a total of 32 Winnipeg Jets' games have been wiped from the schedule.

Marianne Helm

And so, we come that much closer to reaching the end game.

After promising talks between then NHL and NHLPA heated up through the early part of last week, fans hopes were dashed again when Gary Bettman and the NHL announced no deal was close to conclusion and that all offers on the league's owners were being pulled from the table.

It's been four days since those talks imploded and already the NHL has completed its latest round of game cancellations, depriving fans of NHL hockey until December 30, 2012, at the earliest.

Attached below is a list of Winnipeg Jets' games that have been scrubbed from the schedule thus far. As it currently stands, almost 43% of the entire 2012-13 schedule will not be played.

Day Date Home Away Start
Sat 13-Oct Carolina Jets 2:00 PM
Tue 16-Oct Chicago Jets 7:00 PM
Fri 19-Oct Jets Washington 6:00 PM
Sat 20-Oct Jets Philadelphia 7:00 PM
Tue 23-Oct Washington Jets 7:00 PM
Thu 25-Oct Florida Jets 7:00 PM
Sat 27-Oct Detroit Jets 6:00 PM
Thu 1-Nov Jets Tampa Bay 6:00 PM
Sat 3-Nov Jets Florida 6:00 PM
Tue 6-Nov Nashville Jets 7:00 PM
Thu 8-Nov Jets Montreal 6:00 PM
Tue 13-Nov New Jersey Jets 7:00 PM
Thu 15-Nov Montreal Jets 7:00 PM
Sat 17-Nov Jets Boston 6:00 PM
Sun 18-Nov Jets NY Rangers 6:00 PM
Wed 21-Nov Jets Washington 6:00 PM
Fro 23-Nov Jets Philadelphia 6:00 PM
Sun 25-Nov Jets Carolina 12:30 PM
Tue 27-Nov Jets Buffalo 6:00 PM
Thu 29-Nov Toronto Jets 7:00 PM
Sat 1-Dec Tampa Jets 1:00 PM
Wed 5-Dec Boston Jets 7:00 PM
Sat 8-Dec Carolina Jets 2:30 PM
Mon 1-Dec Jets Pittsburgh 6:00 PM
Tue 11-Dec Jets Toronto 6:00 PM
Fri 14-Dec NY Islanders Jets 7:00 PM
Sat 15-Dec Pittsburgh Jets 7:00 PM
Mon 17-Dec Columbus Jets 7:00 PM
Thu 20-Dec Jets Boston 6:00 PM
Fri 21-Dec Jets Pittsburgh 6:00 PM
Wed 26-Dec Jets Edmonton 8:30 PM
Sat 29-Dec Buffalo Jets 6:00 PM

In total, an even 16 home and 16 road games have been eliminated as it pertains to Jets' hockey. Despite the doom and gloom that's been dominating the news wire since Friday, it's still believed that a 57-game season can still be salvaged from this mess, providing that play resumes around January 1, 2013.

And to provide more optimism to your increasing malaise,there's something to be said about the NHL keeping their December 31, 2012 games unscathed. With thirteen games set for play on New Year's Eve -- including a blockbuster between the Pittsburgh Penguins and Washington Capitals -- the NHL may want to save some face in the PR department public by starting fresh witha full slate of action, Including a Sidney Crosby v. Alex Ovechkin showdown. The NBA set precedence for this last year when they began their season on Christmas Day with a marquee match-up between Lebron James' Miami Heat and Carmelo Anthony's New York Knicks.

Should an abbreviated season commence before the final hours of 2012 slip away, the Jets' would host the Tampa Bay Lightning in their annual New Year's Eve matinee.

Although both sides of this labour dispute seem to have dug their heels in for the long haul, there is still feigning hope that a Christmas miracle can salvage what has been a brutal three and a half months.

For more on the ongoing lockout, subscribe to updates from SBNation.com's comprehensive StoryStream.